Skip to main content

Learn To Trade Forex • Best Forex Trading Course • AsiaForexMentor

Orbex logo

Orbex Review 2026

6.8/10
AFM Trust Score

Orbex is a competent, small forex and CFD broker with an unusually education-led offering: even its entry account includes monthly webinars and Trading Central access, and the higher tiers add one-to-one training sessions. Its account ladder is clear – $100 for variable spreads with no commission, $500 for 0.0 pips at $8 commission, $25,000 for 0.0 pips at $5. What has changed is the regulatory picture. The company now publishes a Mauritius FSC licence and a Saint Lucia registration, not the Cypriot authorisation the brand was built on, and its account currencies (USD, EUR, GBP, PLN) show it is not designed for this region. It is worth a look for the education, but there are better-regulated and better-localised options for a Southeast Asian trader.

Risk warning: your capital is at risk. Forex and CFDs carry the potential for gains, but statistically only 11–25% of traders profit while 74–89% lose their investment. AFM earns a commission if you open an account through our links — it never changes how we score a broker.

Min. Deposit
$100
EUR/USD Spread
From 0.0 pips (Premium)
Max Leverage
Up to 1:500
Regulation
FSC Mauritius
Platforms
MT4 · MT5
What we like
  • Clear three-tier account ladder with published spreads and commissions
  • Premium and Ultimate accounts quote from 0.0 pips
  • Education included at every tier, not just the top one
  • Trading Central and VPS access across all accounts
  • Scalping and Expert Advisors permitted on every account
  • No-dealing-desk execution on all three account types
  • One-to-one training sessions on Premium and Ultimate
  • MT4 and MT5 both supported
What to watch
  • Mauritius FSC and Saint Lucia only – no top-tier licence published
  • Account currencies are USD, EUR, GBP and PLN – none regional
  • Ultimate account requires a $25,000 minimum
  • Commission basis is not stated as per side or round turn
  • $100 entry is ten times XM’s and JustMarkets’ minimum
  • AFM’s own link to Orbex carries no tracking, so no CTA is shown
  • Margin call at 100% with a 20% stop-out leaves little room
How we reviewed Orbex
  • Every headline figure — minimum deposit, spreads, commission, leverage and fees — was read off Orbex’s own current published documents, not copied from another review site.
  • Each licence claim was checked against the regulator’s own public register. Regulators named on the operator’s marketing but absent from the register are not printed here.
  • Confirmed which legal entity actually onboards traders from Singapore, Malaysia and the wider region — spreads, leverage caps and investor protection differ sharply between a broker’s ASIC or FCA arm and its offshore one.
  • Scored out of 10 on the AFM Trust Score — regulation, real all-in cost, platform, market access and withdrawal experience. Commercial relationships carry no weight in the score.
  • Anything we could not confirm from a primary source was left out rather than estimated. Figures move; re-check before you deposit.

Last verified September 2026. Orbex can change its pricing, leverage and entity terms at any time — confirm the current figures on its own site before you open an account. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.

About the reviewer
Ezekiel Chew

Ezekiel Chew

Founder & Head of Training, Asia Forex Mentor

Ezekiel has traded foreign exchange for over two decades and built the One Core Program, the trading curriculum Asia Forex Mentor teaches to retail and institutional traders across Asia. He sets the scoring criteria these broker reviews are graded against.

Full profile and credentials

How the AFM Research Lab tests brokers

On this page
  1. Orbex Review: the short version
  2. What is Orbex?
  3. Orbex regulation: what is published today
  4. Orbex account types
  5. Orbex spreads, fees and commissions
  6. Platforms and education
  7. Who Orbex suits
  8. How Orbex compares
  9. Conclusion: is Orbex worth it?
  10. FAQs
  11. Verdict

Orbex Review: the short version

Orbex is a forex and CFD broker with a simple, well-documented three-account structure and an unusual emphasis on education. Every account – including the $100 Starter – includes monthly webinars, Trading Central research, VPS access and permission to scalp and run Expert Advisors. The Premium and Ultimate tiers add one-to-one training sessions.

Pricing is published plainly: Starter has variable spreads with $0 commission; Premium quotes from 0.0 pips at $8; Ultimate quotes from 0.0 pips at $5 but requires $25,000.

The regulatory position is what has changed, and it is the reason for the score. Orbex today publishes a licence from the Mauritius Financial Services Commission (Orbex Global Limited) and a Saint Lucia registration (Orbex Limited, 2025-00714 IBC). The Cypriot authorisation the brand was known for does not appear on the site.

Orbex website

What is Orbex?

Orbex is an online broker offering forex and CFD trading on MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5, with no-dealing-desk execution across all account types.

One correction worth making up front: AFM’s own navigation menu lists Orbex under “Stock Brokers”. That is not what Orbex is. Its accounts are described as Forex Trading Accounts, its Mauritius authorisation is an Investment Dealer licence, and its account currencies are USD, EUR, GBP and PLN. If you came here looking for a broker to buy shares through, Interactive Brokers, Saxo and Tiger Brokers are the relevant reviews.

What Orbex does well is structure. The account tiers are genuinely differentiated – not just by spread but by the amount of education and support attached – and the whole offering is documented on public pages rather than hidden behind a signup.

Orbex regulation: what is published today

Orbex’s current site names two companies:

  • Orbex Global Limited – authorised and regulated by the Mauritius Financial Services Commission, registered at Ground Floor, The Catalyst, Silicon Avenue, 40 Cybercity, 72201 Ebène, Republic of Mauritius. Orbex publishes its Investment Dealer Licence as a downloadable PDF.
  • Orbex Limited – incorporated under the laws of Saint Lucia, registration number 2025-00714 IBC, registered office at Rodney Bay, Saint Lucia.

The site also notes that the Orbex brand is owned by Orbex Services Limited and operated by Orbex Global Limited.

What is not there matters as much as what is. Orbex was long associated with a Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission licence, and much of the older commentary about the broker – including AFM’s previous review – rests on that. No CySEC authorisation appears on the current site. We are not asserting that it was withdrawn, because we did not check the CySEC register; we are reporting that the licence Orbex publishes today is Mauritian, and the second entity is a 2025 Saint Lucia registration.

Mauritius FSC is a real regulator. It is not a top-tier one, there is no investor compensation scheme behind it, and a Saint Lucia IBC registration is not a financial licence at all. If regulatory standing is a priority, IC Markets, Pepperstone and TMGM all lead with ASIC.

Orbex account types

Three live accounts, and the ladder is unusually explicit about what each tier buys.

Starter$100 minimum, variable spreads, $0 commission, leverage to 1:500, monthly webinars and basic education.

Premium$500 minimum, spreads from 0.0 pips, $8 commission, exclusive webinars, one one-to-one training session and advanced education.

Ultimate$25,000 minimum, spreads from 0.0 pips, $5 commission, three one-to-one training sessions.

All three permit scalping and Expert Advisors, include Trading Central and VPS, use no-dealing-desk execution, allow a 0.01-lot minimum size, and carry a 100% margin call with a 20% stop-out.

One thing to check before funding: Orbex’s table gives commission as “$8” and “$5” without saying whether that is per side or per lot round turn. The difference doubles or halves your cost. Confirm it directly – a 0.0-pip spread means nothing until you know what sits on top of it.

Orbex account types

Orbex account comparison (published September 2026)
Starter Premium Ultimate
Minimum investment $100 $500 $25,000
Spreads Variable From 0.0 pips From 0.0 pips
Commission $0 $8 $5
Leverage Up to 1:500 Up to 1:500 Up to 1:500
Minimum size 0.01 lots 0.01 lots 0.01 lots
Margin call / stop out 100% / 20% 100% / 20% 100% / 20%
Execution NDD NDD NDD
Training sessions None 1 one-to-one 3 one-to-one

Orbex spreads, fees and commissions

The headline structure is conventional: pay through the spread on the entry account, or take a raw spread and pay per lot on the higher tiers.

Where Orbex is competitive is the Ultimate tier – $5 commission on a 0.0-pip spread is good pricing if that figure is round turn. Where it is not competitive is the entry point. A $100 minimum for a variable-spread, no-commission account asks more than XM ($5), JustMarkets ($10) or RoboForex ($10), and Orbex does not publish a “from” figure for the Starter spread at all.

The $25,000 Ultimate threshold is also high for what it delivers – a $3 per-lot saving over Premium plus two extra training sessions. Most traders with $25,000 would be better served by an ASIC-regulated broker at $3.50 per side than by an unregulated-tier upgrade.

Orbex spreads and fees

Platforms and education

Orbex runs on MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5. There is no proprietary platform, no cTrader and no TradingView integration – which for a broker of this size is a reasonable choice rather than a gap.

The education is the genuinely distinctive part. Trading Central – a third-party research provider whose analysis normally sits behind a subscription or a large account – is included on every tier, as is VPS hosting for running Expert Advisors continuously. Webinars run monthly on Starter and become “exclusive” on the paid tiers, and Premium and Ultimate include scheduled one-to-one sessions.

For a trader who values structured learning alongside execution, that package is more generous than most brokers at this size offer. It is also, realistically, the main reason to choose Orbex over a cheaper or better-regulated competitor.

Benefits of trading with Orbex

Who Orbex suits

Orbex makes sense if you want structured education and research bundled with the account rather than bought separately; you value Trading Central and VPS included at every tier; or you want a small broker with a clearly published, unambiguous account ladder.

Look elsewhere if you want a top-tier regulator; you want to fund in a Southeast Asian currency, since Orbex offers only USD, EUR, GBP and PLN; you are starting with under $100; or you came here expecting a stock broker, which Orbex is not.

Orbex customer support

How Orbex compares

Orbex is the smallest broker in AFM’s forex set and the one with the least regulatory weight behind it. Against TMGM, which also asks $100, TMGM’s group is ASIC-led and Orbex’s is not. Against JustMarkets, Orbex asks ten times the minimum and offers no local-currency accounts, but bundles far more education.

The honest summary is that Orbex competes on service rather than on price or regulation, and that is a legitimate but narrow proposition.

Orbex against the other AFM forex picks
Orbex TMGM JustMarkets
Minimum deposit $100 From $100 $10
EUR/USD from 0.0 pips (Premium) 0.0 pips (EDGE) 0 pips (Raw Spread)
Commission $8 (Premium), $5 (Ultimate) Not published $3 each side per lot
Max leverage Up to 1:500 Up to 1:1000 1:3000
Lead regulator FSC Mauritius ASIC (AFSL 436416) FSA Seychelles
Local currency accounts No – USD, EUR, GBP, PLN No MYR, IDR, THB, VND

Conclusion: is Orbex worth it?

Orbex scores 6.8, the lowest of AFM’s forex picks. That is not a judgement on its conduct – it publishes its account terms clearly, permits scalping and EAs without restriction, and includes research and education that competitors charge for or reserve for large balances.

The score reflects position rather than behaviour. The published regulation is Mauritius FSC plus a Saint Lucia registration; the entry minimum is ten times what the regional competition asks; the account currencies do not include a single Southeast Asian one; and the commission basis is ambiguous on its own comparison table.

If the bundled education is what you want and you understand the regulatory position, Orbex is a reasonable small broker. For most readers of this site there are better-suited options in the same list.

Sources
  1. Orbex account types, spreads and leverage — www.orbex.com/en/account-types (checked September 2026)
  2. Orbex regulations — www.orbex.com/en/regulations (checked September 2026)

Orbex Review FAQs

Is Orbex regulated?

Orbex Global Limited is authorised and regulated by the Mauritius Financial Services Commission, and publishes its Investment Dealer Licence as a PDF. A second company, Orbex Limited, is registered in Saint Lucia (2025-00714 IBC) – a company registration, not a financial licence. No CySEC authorisation appears on the current site.

Is Orbex a stock broker?

No. Orbex is a forex and CFD broker. AFM’s navigation menu lists it under Stock Brokers, which is incorrect and is being fixed. For share dealing see Interactive Brokers, Saxo or Tiger Brokers.

What is the minimum deposit at Orbex?

$100 for the Starter account, $500 for Premium and $25,000 for Ultimate.

What does Orbex charge in commission?

Its table shows $0 on Starter, $8 on Premium and $5 on Ultimate, but does not state whether those are per side or per lot round turn – which doubles or halves the real cost. Confirm the basis with Orbex before funding a Premium or Ultimate account.

Can I use Expert Advisors and scalp on Orbex?

Yes. Orbex permits both on all three account types, uses no-dealing-desk execution throughout, and includes VPS hosting at every tier so an EA can run continuously.

What is Trading Central and do I get it?

Trading Central is a third-party research and technical analysis provider that many brokers reserve for larger accounts or charge for. Orbex includes it on all three account types, including the $100 Starter.

Can I open an Orbex account in my local currency?

Not if you are in Southeast Asia. Orbex offers accounts in USD, EUR, GBP and PLN only, so funding from a regional currency will incur conversion costs. JustMarkets offers MYR, IDR, THB and VND accounts by comparison.

6.8/10
AFM Trust Score

The verdict on Orbex

Orbex is a competent, small forex and CFD broker with an unusually education-led offering: even its entry account includes monthly webinars and Trading Central access, and the higher tiers add one-to-one training sessions. Its account ladder is clear – $100 for variable spreads with no commission, $500 for 0.0 pips at $8 commission, $25,000 for 0.0 pips at $5. What has changed is the regulatory picture. The company now publishes a Mauritius FSC licence and a Saint Lucia registration, not the Cypriot authorisation the brand was built on, and its account currencies (USD, EUR, GBP, PLN) show it is not designed for this region. It is worth a look for the education, but there are better-regulated and better-localised options for a Southeast Asian trader.

Join the Live Event
Get Your Free Ticket Now

I consent to receiving emails and/or text message reminders for this event.

REGISTER FOR THE MASTERCLASS!